An Architect's View

CFML, Clojure, Software Design, Frameworks and more...

An Architect's View

Welcome to Leopard - Bye, bye /home

March 28, 2008 ·

If you're planning to upgrade to Mac OS X 10.5, make sure you backup or move whatever you have in your /home directory before you start. You know, don't have your ColdFusion 8 install or your Eclipse workspace in /home. Like I did. Oh, I know, why /home? Old Unix habit, I guess. So, why should you be careful about this? Because the Leopard upgrade kindly blows away your /home directory. Yup. There goes my ColdFusion install, there goes my Eclipse install and all my projects. Backups? Fortunately, yes, I had a backup. Not a very up-to-date one, I'll admit (and I did toy with the idea of backing up my entire HD before upgrading to Leopard). Fortunately, everything is under SVN so I just pulled out my old backup (and put it in /Developer this time) and then ran svn update on everything. Other than that minor(!) trauma, the upgrade to Leopard seems to have gone well. I think. Watch this space for more Leopard experiences. Oh, and after all I've said about not upgrading early, why did I finally upgrade? Because, finally, everything I use on a day-to-day basis has been updated for Leopard. Or at least close enough to make the pain worthwhile. That and a new VPN client at work that is not compatible with Tiger.

Tags: osx · personal

2 responses

  • 1 Kurt Wiersma // Mar 29, 2008 at 2:49 PM

    What type of Leopard installation did you do? I did the archive and install option. I don't have a /home directory but I did have customizations in /etc and /sw. These folders were moved to the root (/) under Pervious Systems do I didn't lose anything. I never do the upgrade options on OS X because I have heard that archive option is the most reliable.
  • 2 Sean Corfield // Mar 29, 2008 at 3:01 PM

    I always just do the simple "upgrade". Since Leopard comes with Apache 2.x I figured it would leave my Apache 1.3.x config alone (which it did) although I always keep local backup copies in my home directory. Previous upgrades have always created local backups of Apache configs anyway. It just never occurred to me it would blow away /home. The strange thing is that it didn't even put any files in there - it just blew away what I had there previously!

    Still, it did give me an opportunity for a bit of a scrub of my development environment I suppose...